About Us

/About Us
About Us2019-04-29T14:41:36-04:00

Region VII is one of 600 Area Agencies on Aging in America which were created by an amendment to the Older Americans Act (OAA) of 1965. The organization has a mission to advocate, plan, develop and support an array of services for older adults. 

Read our approved FY2019 Annual Implementation Plan here


Region VII AAA is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the County Commissions of Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Isabella, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac and Tuscola counties which make up the agency’s planning and service area. This membership assures that the AAA is in compliance with Federal and State regulations and sets priorities for agency activities. In accordance with the OAA, a majority of board members are persons sixty (60) years of age or older.

Region VII AAA has an Advisory Council appointed by the same County Commissions and comprised of at least 50% membership of persons age sixty (60) or older, and including representatives of healthcare, recognized minority populations, organized labor, and the City of Saginaw. This council serves as advocates for seniors, bringing issues of importance and concern to the AAA.

The Area Agency On Aging contracts and monitors the service providers throughout the region, who in turn, assure that the most vulnerable older adults, disabled persons, and family caregivers receive supports and services necessary for healthy aging. The agency works to identify trends in aging, and seeks out the funding to develop new programming to meet the need.

Read our  Annual Report

MISSION STATEMENT: To advocate, plan, develop, and support a comprehensive system of quality care and services designed to achieve the optimum level of health, well-being, and independence of people as they age. Area Agencies On Aging were established as an amendment to the 1965 Older American’s Act.